Hirvonen wins Rally Finnskog: “Bring on Rally Sweden!”

Encouraged by first victory behind the wheel of a Citroën DS3 WRC machine Mikko Hirvonen is looking to Rally Sweden with boosted confidence. Finn won with convincing 30 seconds advantage over Henning Solberg in Mitsubishi Evo while Mads Ostberg was further 19 seconds behind the winner. Ostberg was very quick over the course of Norwegian event, winning three stages, but spin and puncture were costly and he wasn’t able to make up time.

Per Gunnar Andersson in Proton Satria managed to clinch fourth spot after second Volkswagen’s driver for upcoming Rally Sweden, Andreas Mikkelsen lost time with a puncture on seventh stage, handing over fifth position to Andersson. Two drivers were separated by just over five seconds in the end.

1 1 Mikko Hirvonen Jarmo Lehtinen Citroen 62:30.7 0:00.0
2 53 Henning Solberg Ilka Minor Mitsubischi EVO 6,5 63:01.2 0:30.5
3 2 Mads Østberg Jonas Andersson Ford Fiesta WRC 63:20.5 0:49.8
4 6 Per Gunnar (PG) Andersson Emil Axelsson PROTON 65:27.3 2:56.6
5 7 Andreas Mikkelsen Ola Fløene SKODA S2000 65:32.4 3:01.7
6 4 Eyvind Brynildsen Cato Menkerud Ford Fiesta WRC 65:33.2 3:02.5
7 40 Anders Grøndal Trond Svendsen Subaru Impreza STi 67:38.8 5:08.1
8 8 Marius Aasen Veronica Engan Ford Fiesta S2000 67:43.8 5:13.1
9 41 Anders Kjær Morten Erik Abrahamsen Renault Twingo R2 73:13.3 10:42.6
10 19 Ole Morten Korsmo Tore Hellerud Volvo 240 74:00.1 11:29.4