Marcus Grönholm on pole in Texas

Marcus Grönholm maintained his clean sweep of the 2012 season Global Rallycross results by claiming the fastest overall time in the seeding sessions at Texas Motor Speedway today.

Having been at the head of the leaderboard in all sessions at the first GRC event in Charlotte two weeks ago, the 44 year old double World Rally Champion goes into the Saturday final at the Texas Motor Speedway in pole position having not yet conceded a position in any of the sessions so far this season.

“Yes, it’s good to keep the 100% record for sure, but let’s be clear, the only thing that really matters is the final result in Saturday’s main event,” said the Finn. “We did a couple of sets of four lap runs, the car wasn’t so good the first time out, a little bit understeery, but maybe this was because of the track surface. On the second run on new tyres and a few changes, it felt really good. We’ve done a few things to the car after Charlotte, perhaps most significantly with the gearshift. We’ve changed the system, perhaps for something a little more traditional, but it is working really well, downshifting quicker in particular. We’ve also improved brake cooling, which should help, especially here in Texas where the ambient temperatures are so high and the braking into the hairpins is so heavy,” Marcus continued.

“Everything is working well and I am pumped about the next stage of the competition. We still need to find out if the jump will happen after the problems some other cars had, but from my point of view, I hope it goes ahead. It’s not quite like the big ‘yumps’ on the 1,000 Lakes Rally in Finland as there is nothing underneath you here, just fresh air, but that’s a challenge I like,” he added.

Marcus will run in heat 1A, the first of four, against Travis Pastrana, Andy Scott and Jimmy Keeney (Subaru) ahead of the final event on Saturday.


Top Ten Seedings, Round 2, Texas Motor Speedway:

1. Marcus Gronholm (Best Buy OMSE Ford) 26.116
2. Tanner Foust (OMSE Ford) 26.125
3. Liam Doran (Citroen) 26.408
4. Ken Block (Ford) 26.416
5. Samuel Hubinette (Saab) 26.715
6. Brian Deegan (OMSE Ford) 26.753
7. Toomas Heikkenen (OMSE Ford) 26.896
8. Travis Pastrana (Dodge) 26.976
9. Andy Scott (Saab) 27.071
10. Sverre Isachsen (Subaru) 27.167