SWRC competition looks promising for Monte

Although main focus of our attention will be on top WRC crews as they start new season in Monte Carlo, so called “Class 2” is also packed with talented drivers and former Monte winners.

According to official entry list, published by Automobile Club de Monaco, total of ten crews will fight for the victory on tricky alpine roads. Most prominent “newcomer” in SWRC class is former Citroën factory driver, Sebastien Ogier. Frenchman left Citroën last year and opted to join Volkswagen. He will spend 2012 behind the wheel of Volkswagen’s daughter company Škoda Fabia’s S2000 machine and is expected to compete in all rallies this year. It is important to note that Volkswagen and Škoda are not officially enrolled as SWRC team and will not be able to score points throughout 2012.

Bryan Bouffier in Peugeot 207 S2000 will also be the one to watch in Monte Carlo. He claimed victory on Monte’s centenial edition last year and is highly experienced and skilled driver. Irishman Craig Breen arrives to Monaco as first winner of newly established WRC Academy. Young Ford Fiesta S2000 driver is determined to start of his SWRC campaign in high gear and could spring few surprises along the road.

Rally fans will want to pay special attention to two factory Proton Satrias S2000, driven by experienced pair, Sweden’s Pergunnar Andersson and Italian Giandomenico Basso. Proton entered SWRC competition this year after participating in IRC.

SWRC entries for Monte Carlo:

Sébastien Ogier         Julien INGRASSIA    Skoda Fabia S2000
Bryan BOUFFIER         Xavier Panseri    Peugeot 207 S2000
Craig BREEN         Gareth Roberts    FORD FIESTA S2000
ANDERSSON Pergunnar         Emil AXELSSON    Proton Satria S2000
Giandomenico Basso         Mitya DOTTA    Proton Satria S2000
Kevin Abbring         Lara VANNESTE    Skoda Fabia S2000
Ari LAIVOLA         Kari MUSTALAHTI    Peugeot 207 S2000
Jaroslav MELICHAREK         Igor BACIGAL    Peugeot 207 S2000
Mathieu Arzeno         JAMOUL Renaud    Peugeot 207 S2000
Michael BURRI         Stéphane Rey    Peugeot 207 S2000